May 22, 2024  
2021-2022 Catalog 
2021-2022 Catalog [ARCHIVED CATALOG]


Raritan Valley Community College is sponsored by the Somerset and Hunterdon County Boards of County Commissioners through the College Board of Trustees. The College comes under the general regulatory supervision of the New Jersey Commission on Higher Education. Known as Somerset County College for 18 years, the College officially changed its name to Raritan Valley Community College (RVCC) on July 24, 1987, to reflect the significant change in the administrative structure of the College. RVCC became the first bi-county college in the State, when Hunterdon County joined in support of the College with Somerset County.

As part of the merger, Hunterdon gained four seats on the College Board of Trustees. The 15-member governing body includes seven members appointed by the Somerset County Board of County Commissioners, three members appointed by the Hunterdon County Board of County Commissioners, the Executive County Superintendents from both Somerset and Hunterdon Counties, two members appointed by the Governor and an alumni representative. The College President serves as an ex-officio member of the Board of Trustees.


Raritan Valley Community College


Somerset County

  Board of Trustees   Board of County Commissioners
  Robert P. Wise, Chair   Shanel Y. Robinson, Director
  Caren Bateman, Vice Chair, Hunterdon   Sara Sooy, Deputy Director
  Tracy DiFrancesco Zaikov, Vice Chair, Somerset   Paul Drake
  Zenon Christodoulou   Melonie Marano
  Paul J. Hirsch   Douglas Singleterry
  W. Timothy Howes    
  Roger A. Jinks    
  Roger R. Locandro   Hunterdon County
  Andrew J. McNally   Board of County Commissioners
  Helena Swanicke    
  Juan Torres   Susan Soloway, Director
  James A. Von Schilling   John E. Lanza, Deputy Director
  Margaret M. Windrem   J. Matthew Holt
  Julia DeTommaso, Alumni Representative   Zachary T. Rich
  Michael J. McDonough, RVCC President   Shaun C. Van Doren