Feb 28, 2024  
2016-2017 Catalog 
2016-2017 Catalog [ARCHIVED CATALOG]


Raritan Valley Community College is sponsored by the Somerset and Hunterdon County Boards of Chosen Freeholders through the College Board of Trustees. The College comes under the general regulatory supervision of the New Jersey Commission on Higher Education. Known as Somerset County College for 18 years, the College officially changed its name to Raritan Valley Community College (RVCC) on July 24, 1987, to reflect the significant change in the administrative structure of the College. RVCC became the first bi-county college in the State, when Hunterdon County joined in support of the College with Somerset County.

As part of the merger, Hunterdon gained four seats on the College Board of Trustees. The 15-member governing body includes seven members appointed by the Somerset Board of Chosen Freeholders, three members appointed by the Hunterdon Board of Chosen Freeholders, the Executive County Superintendents from both Somerset and Hunterdon Counties, two members appointed by the Governor and an alumni representative. The College President serves as an ex-officio member of the Board of Trustees.

  Raritan Valley Community College   Somerset County
  Board of Trustees   Board of Chosen Freeholders
  Robert P. Wise, Chair   Patricia L. Walsh, Director
  Gary Hazard, Vice Chair, Hunterdon   Peter S. Palmer, Deputy Director
  Tracy DiFrancesco Zaikov, Vice Chair, Somerset   Mark Caliguire
  Raymond H. Bateman   Brian D. Levine
  Paul J. Hirsch   Patrick Scaglione
  W. Timothy Howes    
  Michael Kalafer    
  Catherine Hebson McVicker   Hunterdon County
  Lisa D. Midgette   Board of Chosen Freeholders
  Peter G. Schoberl    
  Juan Torres   Suzanne Lagay, Director
Thomas Wilson
  John E. Lanza, Deputy Director
  Margaret M. Windrem   J. Matthew Holt
  Nathan Bott, Alumni Representative   John King
  Michael J. McDonough, RVCC President   Robert G. Walton