Apr 23, 2024  
2019-2020 Catalog 
2019-2020 Catalog [ARCHIVED CATALOG]


Raritan Valley Community College is sponsored by the Somerset and Hunterdon County Boards of Chosen Freeholders through the College Board of Trustees. The College comes under the general regulatory supervision of the New Jersey Commission on Higher Education. Known as Somerset County College for 18 years, the College officially changed its name to Raritan Valley Community College (RVCC) on July 24, 1987, to reflect the significant change in the administrative structure of the College. RVCC became the first bi-county college in the State, when Hunterdon County joined in support of the College with Somerset County.

As part of the merger, Hunterdon gained four seats on the College Board of Trustees. The 15-member governing body includes seven members appointed by the Somerset Board of Chosen Freeholders, three members appointed by the Hunterdon Board of Chosen Freeholders, the Executive County Superintendents from both Somerset and Hunterdon Counties, two members appointed by the Governor and an alumni representative. The College President serves as an ex-officio member of the Board of Trustees.


Raritan Valley Community College


Somerset County

  Board of Trustees   Board of Chosen Freeholders
  Robert P. Wise, Chair   Brian D. Levine, Director
  Caren Bateman, Vice Chair, Hunterdon   Patricia L. Walsh, Deputy Director
  Tracy DiFrancesco Zaikov, Vice Chair, Somerset   Brian G. Gallagher
  Paul J. Hirsch   Shanel Y. Robinson
  W. Timothy Howes   Sara Sooy
  Roger A. Jinks    
  Roger R. Locandro    
  Andrew J. McNally   Hunterdon County
  Felecia Nace   Board of Chosen Freeholders
  Donald Rica    
  Donna M. Simon   Suzanne Lagay, Director
  Juan Torres   John E. Lanza, Deputy Director
  Margaret M. Windrem   J. Matthew Holt
  Eric Neira, Alumni Representative   Susan Soloway
  Michael J. McDonough, RVCC President   Shaun C. Van Doren