Jun 14, 2024  
2011-2012 Catalog 
2011-2012 Catalog [ARCHIVED CATALOG]


Raritan Valley Community College is sponsored by the Somerset and Hunterdon County Boards of Chosen Freeholders through the College Board of Trustees. The College comes under the general regulatory supervision of the New Jersey Commission on Higher Education. Known as Somerset County College for 18 years, the College officially changed its name to Raritan Valley Community College (RVCC) on July 24, 1987, to reflect the significant change in the administrative structure of the College. RVCC became the first bi-county college in the State, when Hunterdon County joined in support of the College with Somerset County.

As part of the merger, Hunterdon gained four seats on the College Board of Trustees. The 15-member governing body includes seven members appointed by the Somerset Board of Chosen Freeholders, three members appointed by the Hunterdon Board of Chosen Freeholders, the Executive County Superintendents from both Somerset and Hunterdon Counties, two members appointed by the Governor and an alumni representative. The College President serves as an ex-officio member of the Board of Trustees.

  Raritan Valley Community College   Somerset County
  Board of Trustees   Board of Chosen Freeholders
  Paul J. Hirsch, Chairman   Robert Zaborowski, Director
  Evelyn S. Field, Vice Chair   Patricia L. Walsh, Deputy Director
  Catherine Hebson McVicker, Vice Chair   Peter S. Palmer
  Raymond H. Bateman   Jack M. Ciattarelli
  John Graf, Jr.   Patrick Scaglione
  Lisa Midgette    
  Ella Rue   Hunterdon County
  Peter G. Schoberl   Board of Chosen Freeholders
  Frederic C. Sterritt    
  Kate R. Whitman   J. Matthew Holt, Director
  Robert P. Wise   Robert G. Walton, Deputy Director
  Tracy DiFrancesco Zaikov   George B. Melick
  Maria Palar, Alumni Representative   William G. Mennen
      Ronald M. Sworen
  Casey Crabill, President