Jun 13, 2024  
2023-2024 Catalog 
2023-2024 Catalog [ARCHIVED CATALOG]


Raritan Valley Community College is sponsored by the Somerset and Hunterdon County Boards of County Commissioners through the College Board of Trustees. The College comes under the general regulatory supervision of the Office of the Secretary of Higher Education. Known as Somerset County College for 18 years, the College officially changed its name to Raritan Valley Community College (RVCC) on July 24, 1987, to reflect the significant change in the administrative structure of the College. RVCC became the first bi-county college in the state when Hunterdon County joined in support of the College with Somerset County.

As part of the merger, Hunterdon gained four seats on the College Board of Trustees. The 15-member governing body includes seven members appointed by the Somerset County Board of County Commissioners, three members appointed by the Hunterdon County Board of County Commissioners, the Executive County Superintendents from both Somerset and Hunterdon Counties, two members appointed by the Governor and an alumni representative. The College President serves as an ex-officio member of the Board of Trustees.



Raritan Valley Community College


Somerset County

  Board of Trustees   Board of County Commissioners
  Caren P. Bateman, Chair   Shanel Y. Robinson, Director
  Roger R. Locandro, Vice Chair, Hunterdon   Douglas Singleterry, Deputy Director
  Helena Swanicke, Vice Chair, Somerset   Paul Drake
  Thomas P. Borkowski   Melonie Marano
  Zenon Christodoulou   Sara Sooy
  Jinnee Min DeMarco    
  W. Timothy Howes    
  Roger A. Jinks   Hunterdon County
  Nidhi Makhija   Board of County Commissioners
  Howard J. Opdyk    
  Adam Shain   Zachary T. Rich, Director
  Margaret Wolan Sullivan   Jeff Kuhl, Deputy Director
Juan Torres
  John E. Lanza
  James A. Von Schilling   Susan Soloway
Preston Clawson, Alumni Representative
  Shaun C. Van Doren
  Paul J. Hirsch, Trustee Emeritus    
  John L. McGuire, Trustee Emeritus    
  Michael J. McDonough, RVCC President