Jun 14, 2024  
2020-2021 Catalog 
2020-2021 Catalog [ARCHIVED CATALOG]


Raritan Valley Community College is sponsored by the Somerset and Hunterdon County Boards of Chosen Freeholders through the College Board of Trustees. The College comes under the general regulatory supervision of the New Jersey Commission on Higher Education. Known as Somerset County College for 18 years, the College officially changed its name to Raritan Valley Community College (RVCC) on July 24, 1987, to reflect the significant change in the administrative structure of the College. RVCC became the first bi-county college in the State, when Hunterdon County joined in support of the College with Somerset County.

As part of the merger, Hunterdon gained four seats on the College Board of Trustees. The 15-member governing body includes seven members appointed by the Somerset Board of Chosen Freeholders, three members appointed by the Hunterdon Board of Chosen Freeholders, the Executive County Superintendents from both Somerset and Hunterdon Counties, two members appointed by the Governor and an alumni representative. The College President serves as an ex-officio member of the Board of Trustees.


Raritan Valley Community College


Somerset County

  Board of Trustees   Board of Chosen Freeholders
  Robert P. Wise, Chair   Shanel Y. Robinson, Director
  Caren Bateman, Vice Chair, Hunterdon   Sara Sooy, Deputy Director
  Tracy DiFrancesco Zaikov, Vice Chair, Somerset   Brian G. Gallagher
  Paul J. Hirsch   Melonie Marano
  W. Timothy Howes   Brian D. Levine
  Roger A. Jinks    
  Roger R. Locandro    
  Andrew J. McNally   Hunterdon County
  Donald Rica   Board of Chosen Freeholders
  Donna M. Simon    
  Helena Swanicke   Shaun C. Van Doren, Director
  Juan Torres   Susan Soloway, Deputy Director
  Margaret M. Windrem   J. Matthew Holt
  Thomas Boon, Alumni Representative   John E. Lanza
  Michael J. McDonough, RVCC President   Zach T. Rich